Now, I generally would rather stick to general education than get into the politics of all this bullshit, but like or not, sex and politics are ridiculously intertwined. The governments have tried to block sexual expression since they decided it was behavior that needed restraint (like idiots) and similar people have decided that they need to block expression now.
Even worse, they've decided to block safeguards put into place by the government (i.e. funding for family planning and STD testing) by denying funding to Planned Parenthood, among other organizations, because of the organization's funding of abortions.
Let's make something clear:
Whether you like it or not, ABORTION IS A LEGAL RIGHT IN THE UNITED STATES.
Regardless, Planned Parenthood has been stripped of all federal funding and federal family planning programs have been eliminated.
Are you fucking serious? How stupid do you have to be to strip people (mainly women) of rights that have been in place since the 1970's.
Title X was signed by Nixon in 1970 and says that women have the right to family planning regardless of economic condition.
And does anyone remember Roe v. Wade? A women has a right to her own body, and thereby right to abortion.
Planned Parenthood has been under attack for a while. I get that. I even understand why: abortion is a very religious and political issue. It's a moral thing. It's an ethical thing. People get charged over it.
But going "under cover" to "expose" what's going on behind Planned Parenthood's doors and exploiting it for all the good it's actually doing everywhere (*ahem* Live Action *ahem*) is selfish and stupid and I can't believe you haven't been stopped yet.
If Glen Beck supports you, you should be shut down. Hard.
Some stats for you to know:
According to the Washington Post, "abortions represent 3 percent of the services Planned Parenthood provides; contraception accounts for 35 percent; testing for sexually transmitted diseases, 34 percent; cancer screening and prevention, 17 percent".
I highly encourage you to fight this. Shutting down funding for family planning and preventative care is essential. Plus, if you're going to abort, you're going to abort. Canceling funding isn't going to do anything about that except just make it riskier for women.
Does this country need more people walking around with STDs? How about cancer? Unwanted (and easily prevented) pregnancies?
We live in the 21st century. Seriously. Get off your fucking moral high-horse, GOP, and join us in reality. Women don't deserve the sexist mistreatment. People realized this 40 years ago. Catch the fuck up.
No comments:
Post a Comment